Your Technology Matters - responding to AVC

Published: by

One of my favourite daily reads is Fred Wilson's AVC at avc.com. I don't always agree with him, but Fred has some great insights, raises interesting issues, and every one of his daily posts has 100+ comments. The community Fred has gathered around his writing is phenomenal. I think if he could find some way to monetize it, he could retire from the VC business, although I strongly suspect he enjoys it too much to do so.

In yesterday's comments thread, John Revay posted a question about selection of technology for building a prototype. It was an important question, one that underlines how seemingly irrelevant early stage choices can have a huge long-term impact (or, in financial terms, the decision is highly leveraged). I felt it is worth repeating the question and my answer to it in full here.

And the response: